In The Wilds

July 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The moment I came across this book in Kinokuniya I fell in love. I was so impressed with the illustrations and the colours that I was beyond inspired. IN THE WILDS is a beautiful and charming collection of illustrations. Nigel Peake is to be the chief driver behind the visual language for my Project. I find that this aesthetic brings out a balanced sense of the organic and playfulness. History is often ‘illustrated’ through photography and cartography, but why not expressive illustration? I feel that illustration will introduce that sensitivity that one should feel when interacting with historical material. In terms of the direction I want the visual language I want to engage with historical content; I would like it to be sensitive to the context yet also have that charming illustrative expression that evokes compassion rather than demands sympathy with hard hitting bleak imagery.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading In The Wilds at Illustory.

meta

